Factbox-Who is in Putin’s delegation to China – and who stayed in Moscow?

MOSCOW (Reuters) – Russian President Vladimir Putin is currently on a visit to China, only his second trip outside the former Soviet Union since the February 2022 invasion of Ukraine.

Who is in the Russian delegation with Putin – and who stayed in Russia?


* Deputy Prime Minister Alexander Novak, his top oil and gas point man

* Foreign Minister Sergei Lavrov (before visiting North Korea on Wednesday)

* Kremlin foreign policy aide Yuri Ushakov

* Kremlin economic aide Maxim Oreshkin

* Kremlin spokesman Dmitry Peskov

* Central Bank Governor Elvira Nabiullina

* Finance Minister Anton Siluanov

* Economy Minister Maxim Reshetnikov

* Dmitry Shugaev, Chairman of the Federal Service for Military-Technical Cooperation

* Yuri Chikhanchin, head of Russian finance monitoring

* Deputy Prime Minister Dmitry Chernyshenko

* Igor Morgulov, Russia’s ambassador to China


* Igor Sechin, the CEO of Rosneft

* Alexei Miller, the head of Gazprom

* Alexei Likhachev, head of Rosatom

* German Gref, head of Sberbank

* Andrei Kostin, head of VTB

* Igor Shuvalov, head of VEB

* Gennady Timchenko, a famous Russian businessman

* Leonid Mikhelson, head of Novatek

* Oleg Belozyorov, head of Russian Railways

* Kirill Dmitriev, head of Russian Direct Investment Fund


Before Putin left for China, he was shown at a meeting with defence and spy chiefs at his Novo-Ogaryovo residence outside Moscow. The following top officials are thought to be in Russia.

* Defence Minister Sergei Shoigu

* Russia Security Council Secretary Nikolai Patrushev

* Federal Security Service (FSB) chief Alexander Bortnikov

* Former Russian President Dmitry Medvedev

* Kremlin chief of staff Anton Vaino

* Kremlin Deputy chief of staff Sergei Kiriyenko

* Prime Minister Mikhail Mishustin

* Viktor Zolotov, chief of Russia’s national guard

* Sergei Naryshkin, the director of Russia’s Foreign Intelligence Service

Sources: Kremlin, Reuters, Russian state media

(Reporting by Guy Faulconbridge; Editing by Muralikumar Anantharaman and Nick Macfie)